Do I actually like to travel?

DSC_0117I have asked this question to myself quite a few times. Truth is I don’t know. With less than two months to go for my solo trip to Italy, I realise that I am both highly underprepared and not really excited. Why am I doing it then?

The answer perhaps lies in the unexpectedness. The idea to get away….perhaps a madness. Life is full of unexpected turns. Why should I bring in more unexpectedness into the mix? Because it doesn’t matter! If there is unexpectedness, I might as well have an overdose of it. I have had this feeling on a few of my previous trips as well. It has nothing to do with the shift from comfort zone. I don’t think I have been really scared as well. I do however recall that when I am in the midst of a few of my journeys there is this brilliant ‘aha’ moment when I feel that this is what is bliss and nothing else matters. I guess that is why I travel. A few highlights from my trip that had me overwhelmed with joy….those ‘aha’ moments were experienced in these exact places:

Wedgemount lake, Canada I still vividly remember this hike. This was a tough one by my (poor) standards. After nearly 4 hours of struggle uphill, I was disappointed to see clouds at the top and then as if nature had this surprise in store for me. The clouds drifted apart and I saw the emerald coloured lake
Wedgemount lake, Canada
I still vividly remember this hike. This was a tough one by my (poor) standards. After nearly 4 hours of struggle uphill, I was disappointed to see clouds at the top and then as if nature had this surprise in store for me. The clouds drifted apart and I saw the emerald coloured lake
Jasper, Canada Nice sunny day and I glance at the lake. I didnt know if I were looking at the skies or their reflections in the water.
Jasper, Canada
Nice sunny day and I glance at the lake. I didnt know if I were looking at the skies or their reflections in the water.
Innsbruck, Austria It was here that I realized that I absolutely love mountains. The sheer size, the tranquility and the mooing of cows in the distance. I was very very peaceful here
Innsbruck, Austria
It was here that I realized that I absolutely love mountains. The sheer size, the tranquility and the mooing of cows in the distance. I was very very peaceful here
Doodh Talai, Udaipur, Rajasthan India is beautiful. Do I need say more? This was that moment when I fell in love with my country all over again
Doodh Talai, Udaipur, Rajasthan
India is beautiful. Do I need say more? This was that moment when I fell in love with my country all over again
Kleine Scheidegg, Switzerland This was a photo taken from the train in which I was traveling. I couldn't believe the place I was driving through. All through I 'knew' I was in a beautiful place. It was here that it actually struck me
Kleine Scheidegg, Switzerland
This was a photo taken from the train in which I was traveling. I couldn’t believe the place I was driving through. All through I ‘knew’ I was in a beautiful place. It was here that it actually struck me
Notre Dame cathedral, Paris I never knew before seeing this that I could even appreciate architecture. I remember even almost not visiting this place. My jaws dropped at the size and the charged atmosphere. Divine indeed
Notre Dame cathedral, Paris
I never knew before seeing this that I could even appreciate architecture. I remember even almost not visiting this place. My jaws dropped at the size and the charged atmosphere. Divine indeed
Mont Blanc, Chamonix, Southern France Not exactly the most famous view but it was this site of people climbing up that put me in a trance. Chamonix was hands down the prettiest mountain top for me.
Mont Blanc, Chamonix, Southern France
Not exactly the most famous view but it was this site of people climbing up that put me in a trance. Chamonix was hands down the prettiest mountain top for me.

Worth traveling 🙂

3 thoughts on “Do I actually like to travel?

Leave a Reply

